An explanation of the changes we've made to Incognito Mode

As of 28th July 2015, we've reduced the data we collect and display when a user reads or listens to a story in Incognito Mode.

What's changed?

Previously, if you read or listened to a story in Incognito Mode, this appeared in the analytics panel as a single read or listen event for that story (though we did not store or display identifying data, such as username, or any location data, or any subsequent story completion data). We've decided to switch this off entirely, so now, when a user is in Incognito Mode, no data about that reading event - even anonymous data - is stored or displayed on MacGuffin.

Moreover, if you switch to Incognito Mode while reading or listening to a story, data about that reading event will be retroactively deleted from our database, and will not appear in the analytics for that story.

Likewise, when reading or listening to a story in 'Preview' (i.e. when not signed-in to MacGuffin), no data about that reading event - even anonymous data - is stored or displayed on MacGuffin.

Why have you made these changes?

We want MacGuffin's Incognito Mode to be really clear and reassuring for users who don't want any analytics data (anonymised or otherwise) to be collected or displayed. Simplifying it this way makes it easy for everyone to understand: If you're in Incognito Mode, MacGuffin's analytics are switched off.

What does this mean for writers?

You may see a change in the analytics for previously published stories, as we have retroactively deleted the read/listen events of incognito sessions. You may also find that stories have fewer reads/listens when you share them among your networks (e.g. on social media), if people preview the story without signing in.